Wednesday, March 20, 2013

SGB unveils RuPay Debit Card and RuPay Kisan Card

Saurashtra Gramin Bank is a Regional Rural Bank, established under RRB Act, 1976. The Bank in its current avatar is  an amalgamation of three banks namely JRGB, JAGB & SBGB, prompted by SBS (now SBI) since 1978.

Saurashtra Gramin Bank, this week  has introduced RuPay Debit Cards and RuPay Kisan Cards for its bank customers in collaboration with National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI).

It is aimed to facilitate more than 5.5 lakh customers of SGB to gain access to over 1,10,000 ATMs across the country and make financial and non-financial transactions including- cash withdrawal, balance inquiry, mini statements and PIN change facilities.

          Once POS Terminals start accepting RuPay cards, the accessibility will still increase. POS Terminals encourage Safe ePayments.

With this unique initiative, nearly 1.25 lakh farmers of SGB will attain the facility of payment instrument in the form of RuPay Kisan Card and achieve the overall goal of financial inclusion, as per the revised KCC guidelines of NABARD, RBI and Ministry of Finance, Govt of India.

The Bank has currently 200+ branches spread over  7 districts of Gujarat named as, Jamnagar, Surendranagar, Junagadh, Amreli, Porbandar, Bhavnagar and Rajkot.
          For more information on SGB, browse through their inhouse magazine.

          The Bank has is also planning for door-step banking to unbanked villages having a population of over 2000 in 139 villages which are in the 7 districts of its service area.